About St. Catherine's Church
St Catherine's Towersey has a long and fascinating history.
The Chancel is two separate buildings, one inside another joined only at the windows, the outer one probably Saxon. The font is Saxon. The original roof line can be seen on the outside of the nave wall, and was probably thatch. The nave was built in the 13th Century. There is evidence that the churchyard has been in use for well over a thousand years for burials.
The 1850–55 reordering was carried out at the expense of Edward Griffin, Lord of the Towersey Manor, who also planted the lime trees along the path. Cranston had the original bell tower at the West end of the Nave removed and the four bells and a Sanctus bell rehung in the new bell chamber over the South porch. The belfry was removed to the original office of the Churchwardens and Overseer of the Poor above the porch. Cranston replaced the roof of the nave.
In recent years major works include the replacement of the under floor beams and new flooring. The Tower stonework was urgently repaired after the slate louvres started falling out. Also the entire electrical system was replaced after sudden failure and the entire stonework of the building was raked out and repointed. A new heating system and a PA system were installed and the roof and ground drainage systems have been replaced recently.